President’s Prize Mr Pat Murphy

Our President’s prize was held on Friday and Saturday in ideal weather conditions.  The course was meticiously prepared for the occasion and with long white markers and a number of previously unseen pin positions we were presented with a stern challenge in quest of the trophy.

John Power carded a magnificent 44pts on Friday, closely followed by Darragh Herlihy and Kenny Walsh on 40 points.  In calmer conditions on Saturday, Jamie Nagle carded 41 pts, and Michael O Gorman 40 pts.  John Power (19) emerged as the worthy overall winner and even made the round trip back from a weekend in Killarney to be on hand to receive the magnificent President’s prize on Saturday. Nice touch John.

We had a packed clubhouse for the presentation and Pat Murphy must be delighted to see so many of the prize winners present on the night.  In his address, Pat attributed the success of West Waterford golf club to Inspiration, Motivation, and Dedication.  He expressed his pride in being a founder member of the club, and acknowledged the enormous contribution of management, committee, and members as key factors in its success.

Pat would like to thank everybody who contributed to a memorable weekend.