Gents Notes w/e Sunday 19th Aug 2018


Presidents Prize– Mr Pat Murphy

1st John Power (19) 44pts, 2nd nett Jamie Nagle (6) 41pts, 1st Gross Darragh Herlihy (1) 39pts 3rd nett Michael O Gorman (12) 40pts b6, 4th nett Kenny Walsh (16) 40pts, 2nd Gross Clive Cooney (6) 33pts, 5th nett Phil Kinsella (14) 39pts, 3rd Gross Brian Foley (7) 32pts

Cat 1.  (0-8) Jimmy Murphy (8) 36pts b9, Cat 2 (9-13) Owen O Keeffe (9) 37pts b9,

Cat 3 (14-18) Stephen O Mahoney (18) 38pts, Cat 4 (19+) Percy Walsh (20) 38pts.

Past President: Pat Murray (24) 31pts. CSS: Friday 37, Saturday 37.


Tuesday Treats – 14th August

CAT 1 1st Justin Spratt (20) 21pts, 2nd Pat Power (22) 19pts

CAT 2 1st Jack Foley (10) 21pts, 2nd John O’Connell (10) 20pts b6

CAT 3 1st Oliver Costello (18) 19pts, 2nd Stephen Ronayne (18) 18pts

Nearest to Pin 4th  Sean Hennessey. Nearest to Pin 9th  John O’Connell

Long Drive: Darragh Herlihy


Al Eile Open Gents Qualifier – 15th August

1st Max Quinn (11) 36pts


Society Results

Cheers Bar Golf Society

1st Nicholas McCarthy 41pts, 2nd Don Quill 38pts, CAT 1 Michael O’Doherty 37pts, CAT 2 Stephen O’Connor 37pts


Doneraile Seniors Golf Society

1st TJ Crowley, Denis Kelly, Michael Deady & Mariane O’Donovan

2nd Eddie Walsh, Brian O’Keeffe, Olive Shallow & Mary Kelleher


Tipperary Vintners Golf Society

1st Michael O’Donnell, 2nd Philip O’Connor, 3rd Johnny Hannigan


Berties Bar Society

GUI. 1st Brendan Murray (15) 41pts, 2nd Dave Cunnungham (10) 37pts

Non GUI. 1st Jason O Connell 38pts, 2nd Padjo Tery 36pts.


Local Society  Results

1st John Enright 36pts, 2nd John Kiely 35pts, 3rd Pat Curran 34pts, Nearest to Pin: Justin Spratt, Longest Drive: Colm O Callaghan



Tuesday 21st August – Tuesday Treats Open 9 Hole All Day

Wednesday 22nd August – Al Eile Open Gents Qualifier 18 Hole Singles

Friday 23rd August – Open 9 hole stableford all day.

Sat 25th/Sun 26th August –  Senior Scratch Cup (up to 3 h/c) Junior Scratch Cup (4-11)

Sat 25th/Sun 26th August – 18 Hole Club Competition.


President’s Prize Mr Pat Murphy

Our President’s prize was held on Friday and Saturday in ideal weather conditions.  The course was meticiously prepared for the occasion and with long white markers and a number of previously unseen pin positions we were presented with a stern challenge in quest of the trophy.  John Power carded a magnificent 44pts on Friday, closely followed by Darragh Herlihy and Kenny Walsh on 40 points.  In calmer conditions on Saturday, Jamie Nagle carded 41 pts, and Michael O Gorman 40 pts.  John Power (19) emerged as the worthy overall winner and even made the round trip back from a weekend in Killarney to be on hand to receive the magnificent President’s prize on Saturday. Nice touch John.  We had a packed clubhouse for the presentation and Pat Murphy must be delighted to see so many of the prize winners present on the night.  In his address, Pat attributed the success of West Waterford golf club to Inspiration, Motivation, and Dedication.  He expressed his pride in being a founder member of the club, and acknowledged the enormous contribution of management, committee, and members as key factors in its success.  Pat would like to thank everybody who contributed to a memorable weekend.


Munster Champions

Congratulations to Dungarvan Senior Cup team who defeated Tralee in the Munster final on Saturday.  We wish them continued success in their quest for All Ireland honours.


Belvedere Trophy

Edward Hickey’s team recorded a 3.1/2 to 1.1/2 victory over Williamstown in the home leg on Thursday 16th August.  This means that we travel to Williamstown needing 2 matches to clinch a spot in the county final.  Our team was: Michale Lawlor and Fintan Gee, Percy Walsh and Pa McCarthy, Pat Curran and Justin Spratt, Ollie Broderick and Noel Murray, Tony Ruane and Terry O Callaghan.  The date for the second leg has yet to be agreed.


Junior Notes:

Results Competition – Tuesday 14th August

1st  Rian O’Dwyer (30) 41pts, 2nd Conal O’Ceallaigh (25) 41pts, Best Gross Jack Ronayne 20 gross, 3rd James Daly (24) 39pts, 4th Niall Brown (36) 36pts, Best 36 Sam Dalton

Next Competition Tuesday 21st at 10am sharp


Junior Captain’s Prize –  Mr Max Quinn on Friday 24th August.



Contact Details

Telephone: 058 43216

Fax: 058 44343