Gents Notes w/e Nov 10th 2019


Club Competition Sunday 10th Nov. 13 Hole Stableford

1st Jim Morgan (13) 31pts, 2nd Brian Foley (6) 29pts

Weekly Open 9 Hole – Mon to Friday

Winner: Denis Conway (12) 21pts


Monday Nov 11thSunday Nov 17th – Round 1 of Comeragh Oil Winter league.

13 Hole Stableford . Re-entry allowed within the same week.

Monday 11th Nov to Friday 15th Nov – 9 Hole singles stableford.

Sunday 17th Nov – South East Junior Alliance. Tee Reserved 10a.m – 11.45a.m

Comeragh Oil Winter League 2020

Round 1 commences on Monday 11th November. The league will be run over 4 qualifying rounds with a team’s best 4 cards counting for their total in each round. The top 8 teams will qualify for the match-play stage. As well as playing for your team you are also eligible for the weekly prizes awarded in four categories. There will be no separate weekend competition for the duration of the Winter league, as this is now incorporated into the winter league schedule. What this means is that your best score for the week counts for your team score and also entitles you to entry in the weekly competition prizes. It would be greatly appreciated if everyone playing would put their name, handicap, date, and team where applicable, on your scorecard. For your convenience an A-Z list of team members is posted on the notice board in the hallway. So the message is clear, check your team, check your card, check your time, and come out and support your team and your club. Full details are posted in the hallway. Members not playing in the Winter League are welcome to play in the weekly competitions and are eligible for the weekly prizes.

Comeragh Oil Winter League Teams

Team A: Morrie Ferncombe, Shane Roche, Niall Colleran, Sean Spratt,

Larry Cunningham, Ollie Broderick, Neil Parks, Diarmuid Horgan

Team B: Colin Houlihan, Shane Kelly, Denis Conway, Dermot Drohan, Jerry Martin, Billy McCarthy, Declan Walsh, Kevin Kelly

Team C: Brian Foley, Ken Fenton, Vinny Coonan, Ray Rochford, Maurice Hallahan,Eddie Glavin, Dave Walsh, Cormac Cullinan,

Team D: Philip Spratt, Mark Flynn, Luke Swayne, Pat Murphy, Tom Breathnach,

J.P. Murphy, Pa McCarthy, Ian O Sullivan

Team E: David Dowling, Lanson Kelly, Ray Donnelly, Robbie Dalton, Liam Leahy, Jack Mulligan, Davy O Keeffe, Pat Power

Team F: Andy Hickey, Micheal Gee, Brian Murphy, Kenny Walsh, John Flynn,

Tony Condon,Tom Higgins, Edward Hickey

Team G: Clive Cooney, David Condon, Brian Nolan, Charlie Barry, Brian Hilliard,

Tony Ruane, Liam Troy, Kieran Mulligan

Team H: Mark Shanahan, Colm O Callaghan, Ray Spratt, Liam Hansbury,

Michael St Ledger, Fintan Gee, Percy Walsh,Jim Sheehan

Team I: David Morrissey, Austin Spratt, Michael O Keeffe, Padraig Breathnach, Bertie Hallahan, James Daly, Eamon Hickey, Eddie Stack

Team J: Thomas Conway, Colman Walsh, Shane Hanrahan, Eoin Prendergast, Shane Dalton, Pat Curran, Jack Ronayne, Mark Davenport

Team K: Richard Ronayne, Stephen Spillane, John Brennan, Stephen Murphy, Richie Hurley, Matt Olden, Ronan Foley, Vincent O Mahoney

Team L: Mike Drohan, Jimmy Murphy, Pat Higgins, John C Byrne,

Conal O Ceallaigh, Tom Shanahan, Dermot Murphy, Pat Murray

Just in case you were wondering about team names this will be the prerogative of the individual team captains, and will be announced shortly.

Weekly Open 9 Hole Competition

For the next number of weeks we are running a weekly 9 hole competition over the front 9. Re-entry is allowed with your best card counting. With the evenings getting shorter here is an ideal opportunity to get a few holes in and stay in shape during the winter months. All handicap levels welcome.

Winter Rules

Please note that all competitions are now played under Winter Rules

Lift clean and place on fairway and rough within 6 inches. The good news is that all our bunkers are in play unless otherwise stated in local rules. Please keep an eye on the notice board for additional rules and the number of holes being played in different competitions.

Men’s Club Annual General Meeting

The AGM of the Men’s Club will be held in the clubhouse on Wednesday November 20th. Note the change of date. Please check notice board for further information.

Annual Delegates Meeting Munster Golf on Wednesday 27th November

The annual delegates meeting Munster Golf, Golfing Union of Ireland will be held at the Hibernian Hotel Mallow on Wednesday 27th November at 6.30p.m. West Waterford GC is allowed 3 delegates.

Annual Subscription for 2020

Thank you to everyone who has already paid their annual subscription. If you have not yet paid, please call to the office where Gillian will be glad to discuss your individual requirements and method of payment. Your subscription can be paid as a once off payment or on a monthly basis by direct debit. Your cooperation is greatly appreciated.

South East Junior Alliance 2019 -2020

Congratulations to Stephen Spillane who claimed first prize in the recent outing to Waterford golf club. West Waterford will host the Alliance on Sunday next 17th November. Tee reserved from 10a.m to 11.45a.m. The weekly results are not always available in time to publish in our weekly notes so apologies to prizewinners. We are delighted to see our club members in the prizes and supporting the South East Junior Alliance.


We offer our sympathies to Phil and the extended Kinsella family on the passing of his brother. May Seamus rest in peace.