Gents Notes w/e Sun 27th Jan 2019


Round 4 Winter league 13 Hole stableford  Jan 21st – Jan 27th

Cat 1. Austin Spratt (8) 30pts, 2nd Jimmy Murphy (8) 28pts b7

Cat 2. Des Cleary (13) 32pts, 2nd Paul Murphy (13) 29pts

Cat 3. Paul Carroll (15) 31pts 2nd Kenny Walsh (13) 27pts

Cat 4. Declan Walsh (19) 25pts, 2nd Vincent O Mahoney (20) 24pts b7

13 Hole CSS (domestic) 28


South East Junior Alliance Sunday 27th January 18 Hole Stableford

1st. Paddy Landers (14) 40pts Carrick on Suir, 2nd. Sean Fitzpatrick (11) 37pts Carrick on Suir, Gross: Tom Byrne (6) Clonmel 28pts, 4th Billy Bergin (11) 36 pts Clonmel, 5th Conor O Brien (11) 35pts b9, Dungarvan, Best Back 9: Declan Sexton (16) 20pts b6, Carrick on Suir.



Monday 28th  to Sunday 3rd February – Round 4 Comeragh Oil Winter League.

13 Hole Stableford includes weekly club competition.


Comeragh Oil Winter League Leaderboard after Round 3

Ballymacoda 375, Ballyguiry 367, Kinsalebeg 364, Glenbeg 363, Tivoli 361,

Helvick 358, Ballyduff 356, Mount Odell 355, Cariglea 346, Old Boro 344,

Old Parish 343, Cappagh 330.


Comeragh Oil Winter League Update.

Thanks to the favourable weather conditions throughout the month of January our Winter League is moving along nicely without a hitch.  We are now half way through round 4 and would hope to have this round concluded by Sunday next 3rd February.  This would leave us with just the fifth and final qualifying round before we head into the top 8 matchplay stage.  Ballymacoda occupy top spot in the table at the moment and bar a major upset should comfortably make the playoff stage.  In second place Ballyguiry hold a slender 3 point lead over Kinsalebeg with the chasing pack close on their heels.  The scoring has levelled off somewhat  over the past few weeks so you can expect a few more twists and turns before the top 8 secure their places. The bottom four teams have a bit to do but with two more qualifying rounds to go any of them could sneak into the top eight.  Round 4 continues on Monday 21st January to Sunday 3rd February and will be played over 13 holes.  You can play any day from Monday to Sunday inclusive subject to booking your tee time.  Thanks to all for your continued support.


South East Junior Alliance

On Sunday last we had a good turnout for the Alliance played over 18 holes in ideal weather conditions.  We would like to thank all the visiting clubs and we hope you enjoyed your game at West Waterford.  Congratulations to all the prizewinners and thank you to our Captain Mr Tom Higgins who was on hand to present the prizes.  The next outing will be the President’s prize Mr Johnnie Norris at Dungarvan GC on Sunday 17th February.

Rules Night at West Waterford

We had a good turnout from the ladies and gents clubs for the new rules night on Friday 25th January.  Phil Byrne and Carmel Moloney from the ILGU kindly agreed to come along and do their presentation.  Throughout the Powerpoint presentation both ladies  patiently went through all the relevant changes and from the very beginning captured the attention of a most appreciative audience.  The question and answer session was most informative and with the assistance of the downloaded app we were given much food for thought.  We would like to express our sincere thanks to Phil and Carmel for coming along on the night and putting everybody in the picture regarding the new rule changes.


New Wednesday Competition for Seniors.

Commencing on Wednesday 13th February The Midweek Medley is a 9 hole seniors competition for ladies and gents.  The emphasis is on enjoyment and a bit of banter followed by a cup of tea/coffee and a chat.  Be there at 11 am. for draw for playing partners and 11.30 start.


Hooper Dolan Farm Safety Awards

Congratulations to our highly efficient club secretary Maurice Hallahan on being chosen as one of the five finalists in the recent Hooper Dolan Farm Safety Awards.



All at West Waterford wish to be associated with our expression of sympathy to Teresa, Barry, Sarah and Michelle and the extended Wright family on the untimely passing of Michael Wright aka The Mad Hatter.  May Michael rest in Peace.